Motor Vehicles

The Motor Vehicles Department functions under the provisions of Section 213 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 (Central Act 59 of 1988). The Motor Vehicles Department is primarily established for enforcement of the provisions of Motor Vehicles Act 1988, Kerala Motor Vehicles Taxation Act 1976 and the rules framed under these two Acts. The Motor Vehicles Department is regulated by the Government of Kerala in terms of policy formulation and its implementation. The District Office is administered by the Regional Transport Officer who is assist by Joint Regional transport Officer, Motor Vehicle Inspector and Assistant Motor Vehicle Inspector in the Executive side and the Senior Superintendent, Junior Superintendent, Head Clerk and Clerks in the Ministerial Side.

The main functions of the Department are

  • Enforcement of the Motor Vehicles Act and Rules.
  • Collection of taxes and fees.
  • Rendering services like Vehicle Registration, Fresh Driving License, Permit and Renewals, Ownership Transfer, Trade Certificate PUCC, Motor Driving School License, Inspection of vehicles involved in accidents, Value Assesment of Confiscated Vehicles.
  • Road Safety Programs.
Designation Address Phone
Deputy Transport Commissioner Zonal Office II, NGO Quarters Road, Kunnumpuram, Vazhakkala, Kakkanadu, Kerala 682021 0484 242 3030
Regional Transport Offices Office Address Phone Email
1 Ernakulam (KL-07) 2nd Floor, Civil Station, Kakkanad, Thrikakkara PO, 682030 0484-2422246 kl07[at]keralamvd[dot]gov[dot]in
2 Muvattupuzha (KL-17) Mini Civil Station, Pazhapally, Mudavoor PO, 686669 0485-2814959 kl17[at]keralamvd[dot]gov[dot]in
Sub Regional Transport offices Office Address Phone Email
1 Aluva (KL-41) 6/1293, Mini Civil Station, Goods Shed Road, Aluva, Ernakulam 683101 0484- 2622006 kl41[at]keralamvd[dot]gov[dot]in
2 Angamaly (KL-63 IIV Buildings, Manjapara Road, Angamaly, Ernakulam 683572 0484- 2456333 kl63[at]keralamvd[dot]gov[dot]in
3 Kothamangalam (KL-44) 3rd Floor, Revenue Tower, Kothamangalam PO, Ernakulam 686691 0485-2826826 kl44[at]keralamvd[dot]gov[dot]in
4 Mattancherry (KL-43) Chemeens Jn., Thoppumpady PO, Kochi 682005 0484-2229200 kl43[at]keralamvd[dot]gov[dot]in
5 North Parur (KL-42) Abul Memorial Shopping Complex, Perumpadana, North Parur, Ernakulam 683513 0484-2442522 kl42[at]keralamvd[dot]gov[dot]in
6 Perumbavoor (KL-40) Municipal Shopping Complex, Pattal, Iringole PO, Perumbavoor, Ernakulam 683548 0484-2525573 kl40[at]keralamvd[dot]gov[dot]in
7 Tripunithura (KL-39) 1st Floor, Vypari Vyvasai Building, Near Sreekala Theatre, Vadakkekkotta, Thripunithura PO, Ernakulam 682301 0484-2774166 kl39[at]keralamvd[dot]gov[dot]in